top of page

Character assassination?

Its been a interesting journey when you are rewriting a story that needs to be told. Currently I am slowly progressing through the rewrite on one of the early chapters. When I realized that one of the the main characters I thought would fit into the story. No longer fits the narrative that I originally designed for them. Do I remove them from the story? Do I minimize the characters impact? Do I maybe make them a minor character instead of a major one?

This decision can have a major effect on how the rest of the book flows and could drive the conclusion in a direction I have not planned on. Its exciting in one way because now the story will take on a life of its own in many respects. But as a writer when your writing you own story you would think you would at least know the ending you want.

Interesting developments to come.

Its these things that get me excited about being a writer. Creating and destroying worlds in your mind and on paper. Watching characters you create become fully formed people in your mind complete with emotions, drives, desires, fears. Its these things that have kept me writing, imagining, thinking of the world in different ways. Spending time lost in my own imagination. Hoping I will put all my ideas and thoughts on that paper or that computer on the table in front of me.

I always say I am a writer by passion not by profession....YET.

Till next time...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page