top of page

Writing goals and how to keep them

Stephen King wrote an amazing book on the writing process that I wish I read much sooner. However I like to believe that I read it when the time was right for me.

Besides that book I never read anything Mr. King wrote. Only because I am not a fan of the horror genre.

One thing I read is that he at one time wrote 2000 words a day! After doing Nanowrimo this past year I found out just how tough that can be especially if you are holding down a full time job and have other things that happen in life.

After I stopped beating myself up for not being able to hit the goal of 2000 words a day. I quickly realized that Mr. King more than likely didn't start off at 2000 words a day either. He like anyone else worked up to that over time. With that in mind I thought I would start off small, 500 words a day.

I think people, myself included, tend to forget that to reach a big goal takes reaching a group of small goals. In this case instead of 2000 words a day. I am starting with 500 words a day. About the size of a blog post which is achievable.

By far the most important thing that I need to remind myself and everyone should when they are climbing that mountain towards a goal is, keep moving. You will stumble on a lose rock and maybe slide down a bit but keep moving up that mountain.

Nobody cares how long it took you to get there. They only care that you made it.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page